Plain Crazy – Wednesday 27th December 2017

Plain Crazy –  Wednesday 27th December 2017

Rhian Shrimplin blew away the Christmas cobwebs with a cross country run across the Salisbury plains in Wiltshire. The 12.5 mile course has been described as ‘hilly, cold, scenic, desolate and windy’ but Rhian completed the snowy course in 1hr:55m:59s and finished 8th female overall.

The Abominable Snowman 10 miler – Saturday 30th December 2017

Steve Hickman completed the extreme cross country Abominable Snowman 10 miler on the Isle of Wight in 2hrs:17m:24s finishing 111th overall despite a rather nasty fall early on in proceedings. Hickman had to contend with some wet conditions as well as some rather impressive undulating hills.

Fowlmead Challenge and New Years Day Marathon – Sunday 31st December 2017 & Monday 1st January 2018

Jon Wells ran the Fowlmead Challenge on New Years Eve. The event, which is held at Betteshanger Country Park, consists of 4.5 mile loops of the off-road course and the aim is to complete as many laps within the 6 hour time limit. Wells completed the marathon distance in challenging conditions in 4hrs:21m:43s.

The following day, Rik Holden completed the New Years Day Marathon at the same venue, however this time on tarmac in 3hrs:55m:57s finishing 10th overall.

Lamberhurst New Years Day Run – Monday 1st January 2018

Adrian Moody completed the annual New Years Day race in Lamberhurst finishing the 10k in 44m:25s, 29th position overall.

Ashford Parkrun  –  Saturday 30th December 2017

The last parkrun of the year saw Ashford & District runners feature heavily on the leaderboard with Jon Pearce finishing 2nd overall for the club in 18m:00s.

Julius Samson was just over a minute behind Pearce finishing 6th overall in 19m:05s with Dan Green hot on his heels in 7th in a time of 19m:07s. Jon Wells then crossed the line in 19m:20s (9th), Paul Moses in 19m:33s (12th) and Scott Lynch in 19m:46s (13th).

Rod Kessack was next to cross the line in 22m:49s (35th) followed by Terry Sellen in 23m:05s (38th), Stuart Nunn 24m:17s (52nd), Mark Harrison 24m:41s (56th) and Mark Boorer 24m:45s (58th).

Jaclyn Kay was 1st female home for the club in 25m:21s (61st), William Whittington in 25m:40s (65th), Heather Johnston in a PB time of 26m:12s (71st), Sandi Mortimer 26m:13s (73rd), John Fidge 27m:23s (84th), Lucy Johnstone 28m:49s (107th), Sarah Homewood 28m:52s (108th), Ann Fidge 30m:48s (136th), Chloe and Claire Green 33m:08s (156th) and 33m:10s (157th) and Raymond Morley 50m:40s (190th).

Meanwhile around the country, Robert Latala won the Folkestone parkrun in 17m:20s, Gill O’ Connor ran the Riddlesdown parkrun in 26m:37s (39th) and Christine Costiff completed the Melton Mowbray parkrun in 22m:45s (14th) In addition Costiff also completed the Rutland Water parkrun on New Years Day in 22m:24s.

Several events held an additional New Years Day parkrun and due to the staggered start times some of our members were able to take in 2 events, completing a parkrun double –

Daniel Green completed Maidstone parkrun in 22m:26s (62nd) and Shorne Woods parkrun in 19m:53s (12th). Tom Green in 22m:24s (61st) and 25m:29s (101st), Terry Sellen 23m:41s (86th) and 25m:30s (102nd), Claire Green 27m:51s (183rd) and 32m:47s (300th)  and Chloe Green 31m:31s (267th) and 33m:52s (325th).

By Mark Carlton