Tadworth 10 – Sunday 6th January 2019

Tadworth 10 – Sunday 6th January 2019

Gill O’Connor competed in Tadworth 10-mile race on Sunday, finishing in 1:23:30. A mixture of grass, trail, road and paths, the two-lap course covered areas of the Epsom and Walton Downs.

KCAA XC Championships – Saturday 5th January 2019

The physically and mentally demanding course at Brands Hatch saw a turnout of 14 men and 3 ladies from A&DRRC, competing against elite athletes from the top clubs in Kent.

The first finisher for the club was Trevor Kay with an intelligently paced run to finish 77th overall in 45:42. He was followed home by John Pearce in 80th (46:04) and Dan Green 87th (46:50). Paul Moses was fourth home for the club and fourth in the V55 category, 115th overall (48:34). Scotty Lynch notched up personal bests on the course to finish 117th (48:48), followed by Julius Samson 122nd (49.17). Keith Haynes continues to show good cross country form finishing in 137th (50:34) with club cross country captain Adrian Moody close behind in 140th (51:06), and Paul Ridley 148th (51:46). A good run from Carl Ireland gave him 153rd (52:29), with very pleasing improvements in times being achieved throughout the season. Rob Barton, coming back from injury was next home with a determined run to finish in 163rd (54:11), followed by Mark Harrison 168th (54:11), Adrian Beresford 178th (56:44), and Stu Nunn 191st (62:31).

The combined efforts in the challenging conditions gave A&DRRC 10th place in the 6 to score competition and a very creditable 5th in the 12 to score.

The ladies were led home by Becks Macey with an outstanding run to finish in 21st with a time of 34:23, finishing fourth in the V35 standings. Made even more impressive when considering this is Becks first season. Claire Green snatched 88th place (42:53), with a strong sprint finish. Jaclyn Kay battled through the bitterly cold conditions to finish in 98th (46:13). The ladies team finished in 13th place in the 3 to score competition.

Plymvalley Parkrun – 5th January 2019

Christine Costiff faced the steep inclines of Plymbridge Woods on Saturday. With a time of 22:10, Costiff was 2nd lady home and broke the VW55 record by 30 seconds (previous record 22:40).

Ashford Parkrun – 5th January 2019

Jon Wells was first to cross the finish line of the first Ashford Parkrun of 2019, with a time of 18:39. Mark Attenborough was 7th overall, with a time of 21.01. Darren Fagg (22:45) was next home for the club, followed by Will Whittington (23:35), Shaun Snowwolf-Harris with a PB of 23:36, Terry Sellen (24:05) and Keith Lynn (25:14). Hugh Scarlin (26:13), Rod Kessack (26:42) and Trevor Sparkes (26:44) then finished the course in quick succession. Sarah Taylor was next in 32:08, followed by Lesley Moody (32:36), Andrew Smith (34:53), Sukai N’Dure with a PB of 35:28 and Debbie Payne (38:46). In her first run of the course, Heather Tutt finished in 41:14, followed by Julie Foster (42:26).

Lamberhurst 10K – 1st January 2019

Two A&D runners took on the Lamberhurst 10K on 1st January. The course took runners through the village of Lamberhurst and the grounds of Scotney Castle. Julius Samson was 14thoverall, with a time of 40:56; Adrian Beresford was 61st, with a time of 47:08.

Hangover 5 – 1st January 2019

New Year saw Paul Ridley travel to West Sussex for the 5-mile race in Worthing. The undulating course featured sections of road and slipper chalk paths. Ridley crossed the finish line in 36:50.

New Year’s Day Marathon SVN – 1st January 2019

Rik Holden started 2019 on fine form, completing the SVN coastal marathon in 3:44:59.

Maidstone Parkrun – 1st January 2019

Several A&D runners took on a double parkrun challenge to welcome in the new year. In Maidstone, Jon Wells was first home for the club in 18:19, followed by Will Whittington in a PB time of 26:10, Keith Lynn (26:39) and Rachel Jenkins (32:09). Lucy Johnstone and Emma Jenkins both completed the course in 35:43.

Sittingbourne Parkrun – 1st January 2019

A mixture of path and trail, Dan Green broke the V45 course record with his time of 18:28 (the previous record time being 18:34); Green was 4th overall. Jon Wells was next home for the club in 19:18, with Will Whittington (25:26), Keith Lynn (26:49), Lucy Johnstone (33:46) and Emma Jenkins (36:08) following.

Great Run Local Ashford – 30th December 2018

Dan Green claimed 1st place in the 5K around Kingsnorth, with a time of 18:50.

Riddlesdown Parkrun – 29th December 2018

Gill O’Connor was 6th lady home in the muddy 5K, with a time of 23:30.

Ashford Parkrun – 29th December 2018

In the interlude between Christmas and New Year, A&D took to Ashford’s Victoria Park for the weekly 5K. Trevor Kay finished in 2nd place overall, with a time of 17:27. Dan Green (18:01) was 4th overall and first vet home. Jon Wells was next home for the club in 18:14, closely followed by Jon Pearce (18:32). Keith Haynes finished in 15th place overall with a personal best time of 19:45. Scotty Lynch (20:19) was next, followed by Mark Attenborough (20:53), Mark Harrison (21:07) and Carl Ireland (22:23). Terry Sellen celebrated his 200th parkrun, crossing the finish line in 23:43. Stu Nunn (24:02), Sandi Mortimer (24:08), Shaun Snowwolf-Harris (24:17), Will Whittington (25:11) and John Fidge (25:41) were next across the finish line. Rod Kessack then completed the course in 27:34, followed by Ann Fidge (28:44), Emma Jenkins (32:10), Becky Hodgson (35:06), Sukai N’Dure (36:23) and Julie Foster (45:13).

Saltwood Boxing Day Run – 26th December 2018

Four A&D runners took on the post-Christmas 3-mile run around Saltwood. Dan Green finished in 11th place, with a time of 18:15. Andrew Noble (19:13) was next home for the club, crossing the finish line in festive attire. Adrian Beresford completed the course in 23:44, followed by Steve Hickman in 31:10.

Ashford Christmas Day Parkrun – 25th December 2018

Harking back to Christmas Day, many A&D runners took to Victoria Park for the festive parkrun. Dan Green was first over the finish line in 18:06, followed by Jon Wells in second place (18:15). Paul Moses was 11th overall with a time of 19:39, followed by Mark Attenborough (21:06), Christine Costiff (21:45), Julius Samson (23:10), Aaron Homewood (23:34), Eddie Rodger (24:02), Don Dewar (24:57) and Rob Carpenter (24:58). Will Whittington completed the course in 25:00, with Sandi Mortimer (25:34), Keith Lynn (25:55) and John Fidge (26:02) close behind. Hazel Turner was next in 27:33, followed by Sarah Homewood (27:39) and Ann Fidge (28:55). Shaun Snowwolf-Harris finished in 32:05, closely followed by Lucy Johnstone (32:07). Emma Jenkins (32:52), Debbie Payne (35:33) and Sukai N’Dure (35:57) were next home for the club.

–          By Paul Moses and Verity Dunbar